Biography

Introduction to a practice-based training of some 130 people, Uganda 2018

David has a diverse and varied professional background. Experienced in computer science, organic farming, environmental education and adult education, his professional path has been guided by his interests and passions. Undoubtedly, the common threads with all of his experience include sharing and transmission of knowledge and exchanging with others.

Beyond his professional life, he has always been inspired to divert from the beaten path. He has travelled around the world and built his own home, where he lived while he was studying engineering.

For David, innovation is more than simply alluring – it is a necessity, a state of mind. He has himself taken numerous courses and has been able to question the learning process. He is passionate about training based on experience and practice. He has applied these concepts in courses he has designed and facilitated on permaculture, and also in computer training for a humanitarian organisation. Passionate, committed and pragmatic, he has an exceptional ability to listen.

Balthazar is a computer scientist. Working for more than ten years in an international emergency humanitarian organisation, where the culture was demanding and fast-paced, he developed his ability to adapt to ever-changing situations.

During this time, he was a key team member in various crisis committees within the organisation, sharpening his ability to actively listen and analyse situations. He also became an adult trainer and a training designer.

Balthazar has travelled extensively for both business and pleasure . He has an insatiable curiosity for new experiences.

He has recently qualified as a diving instructor and as a skipper, further developing his teaching skills as well as risk analysis and management. He is now running boat trips, teaching people how to sail. Calm when faced with conflict and stress, his skills include strong leadership, an extraordinary ability to adapt, good group management, and an ease of decision-making.

Since 2013, Balthazar and David have together facilitated the international IT training for the above-mentioned humanitarian organisation. Over the years, they have introduced practical sessions to replace those based on theory, and have thus created their first experiential training. In 2018, they developed Problem Based Learning (PBL) -based training and practice – the idea of this training is to reinforce what has been practiced or tried.

In 2019, convinced of the need to innovate the traditional idea of training, and to redefine learning processes, they co-founded DEFORMATIONS SàRL.

With their complementary, wide-ranging and versatile skills, they are now providing training on land, on water and even underwater!


“Une approche basée sur la pratique ainsi qu’une interaction importante avec les participants qui permet de casser la monotonie des vieilles méthodes. Le participant retient clairement plus l’information “
Santino Gullo Radio Telecom SpecialistMédecins Sans Frontières SuisseGeneva
“Une expérience unique de représentation spatiale de l’esprit d’équipe”
Thierry GermondArchitecteGeneva
De vrais catalyseurs d’enthousiasme pour y croire, et le groupe résoud ensemble chaque problème comme on relève un challenge !
Pierre GaillySystem engineerMSFFrance
There’s a method in your madness and you take people on a journey they won’t forget !
Sarah BellamyHead of ICTArtsen zonder GrenzenAmsterdam
“I’ve worked with David and Balthazar on IT & Telecom trainings. Their creativity, enthusiasm and structured approach were instrumental in the successful delivery of these projects. Anything from small hands-on workshops to large corporate trainings, DEFORMATIONS is my number one solution.”
Lerten VirouxFounderOut of the Box GroupBelgium
“I had the opportunity to assist in a leadership exercise with DEFORMATIONS. The exercise was challenging but the result allowed me to gain a deeper insight about myself and how I interact in an environment under pressure. This has made me aware of how I can improve my communication skills in a complex environment. I highly recommend a collaboration with DEFORMATIONS. It can only bring clarity and improvement in communication with one another.”
Jaira GuevaraSales ManagerLe RichemondGeneva
“… como hacer que un aburrido training, no lo sea, junto a estos dos fantásticos profesionales” “…how to receive training in a non-conventional way, with those two fantastic professionals”
Sergio GarciaICT ReferentMSFBarcelona
“vous êtes le grain de sable qui enraye les approches pédagogiques d’un autre temps”
Alexandre RibantFICT Solutions ArchitectMSFBruxelles

Biographie

Introduction lors d’une formation basée sur la pratique réunissant quelques 130 personnes, Ouganda 2018

David dispose d’un parcours professionnel divers et varié. De l’informatique à l’agriculture biologique en passant par l’éducation à l’environnement et la formation d’adulte, il a su se définir professionnellement en prenant en compte ses centres d’intérêt et ses passions. Le point commun est sans conteste le partage, la transmission de savoir et la rencontre de l’autre.

Au-delà de la vie professionnelle, l’envie de sortir des sentiers battus l’a toujours inspiré. Il a notamment fait un voyage autour du monde et construit sa propre habitation, dans laquelle il vivra le temps de ses études d’ingénieur.

L’innovation est pour lui plus qu’un attrait, c’est une nécessité, un état d’esprit. Suite aux nombreuses formations suivies et le questionnement des processus d’apprentissage, il se passionne pour la conception de formations basées sur l’expérience et la pratique. Il a pu appliquer ces concepts en dispensant des cours de permaculture notamment, mais également lors de formations en informatique pour une organisation humanitaire. Passionné et engagé, il a une qualité d’écoute exceptionnelle combinée à un caractère pragmatique.

Balthazar est informaticien de métier, il a travaillé plus de dix ans dans une organisation d’urgences humanitaires. Cet environnement multiculturel, international et exigeant a développé sa capacité à s’adapter à l’inconnu par l’expérience.

Durant ces années, il a également fait partie de diverses cellules de crises et d’écoute au sein de l’organisation ce qui a aiguisé ses capacités d’écoute active et d’analyse de situation. Parallèlement, il est devenu formateur pour adulte ainsi que designer de formation.

Par ailleurs, il a passablement voyagé pour des raisons professionnelles mais également seul dans sa vie privée. Il a de ce fait développé une ingéniosité face à l’inédit.

Finalement, en devenant instructeur de plongée et skipper, il a pu développer ses capacités pédagogiques ainsi que l’analyse et la gestion de risques. Dès lors, il organise des croisières collaboratives et formatrices. Doté de leadership, il a une grande capacité d’adaptation et fait preuve d’aisance dans la prise de décisions ainsi que la gestions de groupe face aux conflits et au stress.

Dès 2013, ils assument ensemble la formation informatique au niveau international de l’organisation humanitaire qui les emploie. Au fil des ans, ils introduisent la notion de cas pratiques pour remplacer certaines sessions théoriques et créent ainsi leurs première formation expérientielle. En 2018, ils développent une formation basée sur l’apprentissage par problème (Problem Based Learning – PBL) et la pratique; la théorie venant renforcer ce qui a été expérimenté.

En 2019, persuadé du besoin d’innover dans le domaine de la formation, ils formalisent leur envie de revisiter les processus d’apprentissage et cofondent DEFORMATIONS SàRL. .

Complémentarité et polyvalence de compétences, leur permettent de proposer des projets de formations sur terre, sur l’eau voir également sous l’eau !


“… como hacer que un aburrido training, no lo sea, junto a estos dos fantásticos profesionales” “…how to receive training in a non-conventional way, with those two fantastic professionals”
Sergio GarciaICT ReferentMSFBarcelona
“vous êtes le grain de sable qui enraye les approches pédagogiques d’un autre temps”
Alexandre RibantFICT Solutions ArchitectMSFBruxelles
“I had the opportunity to assist in a leadership exercise with DEFORMATIONS. The exercise was challenging but the result allowed me to gain a deeper insight about myself and how I interact in an environment under pressure. This has made me aware of how I can improve my communication skills in a complex environment. I highly recommend a collaboration with DEFORMATIONS. It can only bring clarity and improvement in communication with one another.”
Jaira GuevaraSales ManagerLe RichemondGeneva
“Une approche basée sur la pratique ainsi qu’une interaction importante avec les participants qui permet de casser la monotonie des vieilles méthodes. Le participant retient clairement plus l’information “
Santino Gullo Radio Telecom SpecialistMédecins Sans Frontières SuisseGeneva
“I’ve worked with David and Balthazar on IT & Telecom trainings. Their creativity, enthusiasm and structured approach were instrumental in the successful delivery of these projects. Anything from small hands-on workshops to large corporate trainings, DEFORMATIONS is my number one solution.”
Lerten VirouxFounderOut of the Box GroupBelgium
There’s a method in your madness and you take people on a journey they won’t forget !
Sarah BellamyHead of ICTArtsen zonder GrenzenAmsterdam
“Une expérience unique de représentation spatiale de l’esprit d’équipe”
Thierry GermondArchitecteGeneva
De vrais catalyseurs d’enthousiasme pour y croire, et le groupe résoud ensemble chaque problème comme on relève un challenge !
Pierre GaillySystem engineerMSFFrance